

Media Advisory 15 November, 2022 Contact: Kjell Kühne, LINGO +52 967 105 3425 kjell.kuehne@leave-it-in-the-ground.org

## Launch of "Fossil Free Zones" global climate action framework

When: 17 November at 11:00-11:45 a.m. Egypt time (GMT+2)
Where: online (Zoom link), COP27, Blue Zone, Area E, Meeting room BR1
Photo/video/interview opportunity at COP venue: 12:15 pm Egypt time, in front of the COP27 media center building
Press release: "Fossil Free Zones" - new global bottom-up climate action framework launched

An alliance of NGOs will launch "Fossil Free Zones" as a new framework for bottom-up climate action to effectively respond to the climate emergency, by ending fossil fuels step by step.

Fossil Free Zones are places of any scale that do not burn or extract oil, gas or coal. The example of these "fossil free" pioneers can guide efforts in other locations. A website and a global map will be introduced that shows the places that have ended oil, gas and coal. 250 Fossil Free Zones in 30 countries have already been identified (see list of countries with Fossil Free Zones below). They range from Fossil Free Homes, Fossil Extraction Free Communities, Coal Free Countries to a Fossil Extraction Free Continent.

At the launch event at COP27 in Sharm el Sheikh, pioneers of the movement beyond the fossil fuel age will share examples of existing Fossil Free Zones and call upon the climate movement to establish more Fossil Free Zones everywhere.

## Who:

Dr. Fergus Green, University College London, UK Naglaa Ahmed, SEKEM, Egypt Kjell Kühne, Leave it in the Ground Initiative (LINGO), Germany Helena Gualinga, Community leader, Sarayacu, Ecuador (tbc) Bill McKibben, author, US (tbc) Denmark government representative (tbc)



## Contact at COP27: Kjell Kühne +52 967 105 3425 kjell.kuehne@leave-it-in-the-ground.org

## **Countries & Territories with Fossil Free Zones identified:**

- 1. Antarctica
- 2. Australia
- 3. Belgium
- 4. Belize
- 5. Bolivia
- 6. Botswana
- 7. Canada
- 8. Costa Rica
- 9. Denmark
- 10. Ecuador
- 11. Egypt
- 12. Eritrea
- 13. Finland
- 14. France
- 15. Germany
- 16. Ireland
- 17. Italy
- 18. Mexico
- 19. Netherlands
- 20. New Zealand
- 21. North Macedonia
- 22. Paraguay
- 23. Portugal
- 24. Spain
- 25. Sweden
- 26. Switzerland
- 27. Syria
- 28. UK
- 29. Uruguay
- 30. USA